The Magician's Nephew (Hardcover)

Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


In the first book of The Chronicles of Narnia, C.S. Lewis shows us how it all began -- the glorious birth of Narnia at the hand of its unforgettable King. It is followed by six more books that collectively tell the history of a world that has become as real as our own.

About the Author

Clive Staples Lewis (1898 1963) was a professor at Oxford and Cambridge. An atheist until he was 30, he is remembered as a Christian apologist who expressed the great truths of his faith with penetrating logic and winsome wit. Lewis wrote more than forty books, including The Screwtape Letters, The Chronicles of Narnia, and Mere Christianity.

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) was one of the intellectual giants of the twentieth century and arguably the most influential Christian writer of his day. He was a Fellow and Tutor in English literature at Oxford University until 1954 when he was unanimously elected to the Chair of Medieval and Renaissance English at Cambridge University, a position he held until his retirement. His major contributions in literary criticism, children's literature, fantasy literature, and popular theology brought him international renown and acclaim. He wrote more than thirty books, allowing him to reach a vast audience, and his works continue to attract thousands of new readers every year. His most distinguished and popular accomplishments include "The Chronicles of Narnia", "Out of the Silent Planet", "The Four Loves", "The Screwtape Letters", and "Mere Christianity".

Clive Staples Lewis (1898-1963) fue uno de los intelectuales mAs importantes del siglo veinte y podrIa decirse que fue el escritor cristiano mAs influyente de su tiempo. Fue profesor particular de literatura inglesa y miembro de la junta de gobierno en la Universidad Oxford hasta 1954, cuando fue nombrado profesor de literatura medieval y renacentista en la Universidad Cambridge, cargo que desempeNO hasta que se jubilO. Sus contribuciones a la crItica literaria, literatura infantil, literatura fantAstica y teologIa popular le trajeron fama y aclamaciOn a nivel internacional. C. S. Lewis escribiO mAs de treinta libros, lo cual le permitiO alcanzar una enorme audiencia, y sus obras aUn atraen a miles de nuevos lectores cada aNo. Sus mAs distinguidas y populares obras incluyen "Las CrOnicas de Narnia, Los Cuatro Amores, Cartas del Diablo a Su Sobrino y Mero Cristianismo".

Chris Van Allsburg is the winner of two Caldecott Medals, for Jumanji and The Polar Express, as well as the recipient of a Caldecott Honor Book for The Garden of Abdul Gasazi. The author and illustrator of numerous picture books for children, he has also been awarded the Regina Medal for lifetime achievement in children s literature. In 1982, Jumanji was nominated for a National Book Award and in 1996, it was made into a popular feature film. Chris Van Allsburg is a former instructor at the Rhode Island School of Design.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780060234973
ISBN-10: 0060234970
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: August 14th, 2007
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: Chronicles of Narnia