Bottom of the 33rd: Hope, Redemption, and Baseball's Longest Game (Large Print / Paperback)

Bottom of the 33rd: Hope, Redemption, and Baseball's Longest Game Cover Image
$26.99
Special Order-Item May Be Out Of Print

Description


Bottom of the 33rd is chaw-chewing, sunflower-spitting, pine tar proof that too much baseball is never enough. Jane Leavy, author of The Last Boy and Sandy Koufax

What a book an exquisite exercise in story-telling, democracy and myth-making. Colum McCann, winner of the National Book Award for Let The Great World Spin

From Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times columnist Dan Barry comes the beautifully recounted story of the longest game in baseball history a tale celebrating not only the robust intensity of baseball, but the aspirational ideal epitomized by the hard-fighting players of the minor leagues. In the tradition of Moneyball, The Last Hero, and Wicked Good Year, Barry's Bottom of the 33rd is a reaffirming story of the American Dream finding its greatest expression in timeless contests of the Great American Pastime.

About the Author


Dan Barry is a national columnist for the New York Times. He lives with his wife and daughters in Maplewood, New Jersey.

Praise For…


Winner of the 2012 PEN/ESPN Award for Literary Sportswriting
-

Dan Barry has crafted a loving and lyrical tribute to a time and a place when you stayed until the final out...because that’s what we did in America. Bottom of the 33rd is chaw-chewing, sunflower-spitting, pine tar proof that too much baseball is never enough.
-–Jane Leavy

“What a book -- an exquisite exercise in story-telling, democracy and myth-making that has, at its center, a great respect for the symphony of voices that make up America.”
-–Colum McCann

“Dan’s Barry’s meticulous reporting and literary talent are both evident in Bottom of the 33rd, a pitch-perfect and seamless meditation on baseball and the human condition.”
-–Gay Talese

“A fascinating, beautifully told story... In the hands of Barry, a national correspondent for the New York Times, this marathon of duty, loyalty, misery and folly becomes a riveting narrative...The book feels like ‘Our Town’ on the diamond.”
-–Los Angeles Times

“An astonishing tale that lyrically articulates baseball’s inexorable grip on its players and fans, Bottom of the 33rd belongs among the best baseball books ever written.”
-–Cleveland Plain Dealer

“Meticulously researched and tremendously entertaining!”
-–Columbus Dispatch

“[Dan] Barry does more than simply recount the inning-by-inning-by-inning box score. He delves beneath the surface, like an archaeologist piecing together the shards and fragments of a forgotten society, to reconstruct a time and a night that have become part of baseball lore.”
-–Associated Press

“Whether you’re a baseball aficionado or a reader who just enjoys a good yarn, you’ll love this book.”
-–Minneapolis Star Tribune

“A worthy companion to Roger Kahn’s classic Boys of Summer ...[Dan Barry] exploits the power of memory and nostalgia with literary grace and journalistic exactitude. He blends a vivid, moment-by-moment re-creation of the game with what happens to its participants in the next 30 years.”
-–Stefan Fatsis, New York Times

“Brilliantly rendered...The book is both a fount of luxurious writing and a tour-de-force of reportage.”
-–Washington Post

“[An] heroic conjuring of the past.”
-–New York Times Book Review

“[A] masterpiece...destined for the Hall of Fame of baseball books.”
-–Publisher's Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062065032
ISBN-10: 0062065033
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2011
Pages: 425
Language: English