Epic Reads Sumer 2017 Meet-up

Date
Thursday, June 15, 2017 - 7:00pm
Department

Schuler Books & Music 
2820 Towne Center Blvd. 
Lansing, MI 48912

Our Dark Duet Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062380883
Availability: On Our Shelves Now-Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Greenwillow Books - June 13th, 2017

,
Dividing Eden Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062453846
Availability: On Our Shelves Now-Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Harper Teen - June 6th, 2017

,
House of Furies Cover Image
By Madeleine Roux, Iris Compiet (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062498618
Availability: On Our Shelves Now-Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Harper Teen - May 30th, 2017

We’re excited to be a part of Epic Reads Summer Meet-up tour, featureing bestselling YA authors Victoria Schwab (Our Dark Duet), Madeleine Roux (House of Furies) and Joelle Charbonneau (Dividing Eden)! You’ll get to interact with each author in a small group setting, as well as receiving an Epic Reads tote bag!

This will be a ticketed event. Tickets are available with purchase of any one of the three featured titles (Our Dark Duet, House of Furies, and Dividing Eden), or with purchase of the Epic Reads Bundle, which includes all three titles at a 20% discount. Tickets are available at the Eastwood Towne Center location ONLY, in-person or via phone purchase (517.316.7495).

About Our Dark Duet:

The sequel—and conclusion—to Victoria Schwab’s instant #1 New York Times bestseller, This Savage Song. A gorgeously written dark fantasy from New York Times-bestselling author Victoria Schwab, and one to hand to fans of Holly Black, Laini Taylor, and Maggie Stiefvater.

Kate Harker is a girl who isn’t afraid of the dark. She’s a girl who hunts monsters. And she’s good at it. August Flynn is a monster who can never be human. No matter how much he once yearned for it. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.

Nearly six months after Kate and August were first thrown together, the war between the monsters and the humans is a terrifying reality. In Verity, August has become the leader he never wished to be, and in Prosperity, Kate has become the ruthless hunter she knew she could be. When a new monster emerges from the shadows—one who feeds on chaos and brings out its victim’s inner demons—it lures Kate home, where she finds more than she bargained for. She’ll face a monster she thought she killed, a boy she thought she knew, and a demon all her own.

Praise for Our Dark Duet:

“If This Savage Song was a tense exploration of human nature, this sequel is the reckoning. ...Schwab folds questions of identity, morality, and judgment into her stunningly crafted narrative. ...readers will be hard-pressed to put down this action-driven finale.” (Booklist (starred review))

“The breakneck packing of the climactic latter half eventually resolves into a poignant ending. ...Schwab’s style is on point, as always. Happily, the many ardent fans waiting for this volume...[will] delight in the feels.” (Kirkus Reviews) 

About the Author

VICTORIA "V.E." SCHWAB is the product of a British mother, a Beverly Hills father, and a southern upbringing. Because of this, she has been known to say "tom-ah-toes", "like", and "y'all". She currently lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, and when she is not wandering in search of buried treasure, fairy tales, and good tea, she's tucked in a cafe, dreaming up monsters.

About House of Furies

An all-new gothic horror series from the New York Times bestselling author of Asylum.

After escaping a harsh school where punishment was the lesson of the day, seventeen-year-old Louisa Ditton is thrilled to find employment as a maid at a boarding house. But soon after her arrival at Coldthistle House, Louisa begins to realize that the house’s mysterious owner, Mr. Morningside, is providing much more than lodging for his guests. Far from a place of rest, the house is a place of judgment, and Mr. Morningside and his unusual staff are meant to execute their own justice on those who are past being saved.

Louisa begins to fear for a young man named Lee who is not like the other guests. He is charismatic and kind, and Louisa knows that it may be up to her to save him from an untimely judgment. But in this house of distortions and lies, how can Louisa be sure whom to trust?

Featuring stunning interior illustrations from artist Iris Compiet, plus photo-collages that bring Coldthistle House to chilling life, House of Furies invites readers to a world where the line between monsters and men is ghostly thin.

Praise for House of Furies

“Eerie and elegant. Roux suffuses HOUSE OF FURIES with constant, creeping dread.” (Chuck Wendig, New York Times bestselling author)

“House of Furies takes the reader on a twisting path down a dark hall we’re compelled to travel, no matter what is behind the door at the end. Darkly captivating.” (Mindy McGinnis, Edgar Award-winning author of A Madness So Discreet)

“House of Furies is absolutely terrific! Devious and fun, weird and scary, heartbreaking and triumphant. Madeleine Roux always--always--enchants and surprises!” (Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin and Mars One)

“Atmospheric, moody, and great fun.” (Kirkus)

“From eerie prologue to gory end, this gothic tale is imbued with a lingering sense of unease, offering up a Faustian plot that explores the darkest pits of human nature. Atmospheric and troubling, this series starter will sink its hooks into readers as surely as it frightens them.” (Booklist)

“Roux (the Asylum series) brings her gothic setting to rich life in this darkly delightful (and frequently gruesome) series opener.” (Publishers Weekly)

“House of Furies digs its claws into you and won’t let go; a mesmerizing, haunting, gorgeously written journey into the heart of darkness.” (Michelle Gagnon)

About the Author:

MADELEINE ROUX is the New York Times bestselling author of the Asylum series, which has sold into eleven countries around the world and whose first book was named a Teen Indie Next List Pick. A graduate of the Beloit College writing program, Madeleine now lives in Seattle, Washington.

About Dividing Eden

From the author of the New York Times bestselling Testing trilogy comes a sweeping new fantasy series, perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sarah J. Maas.

Twins Carys and Andreus were never destined to rule Eden. With their older brother next in line to inherit the throne, the future of the kingdom was secure.

But appearances—and rivals—can be deceiving. When Eden’s king and crown prince are killed by assassins, Eden desperately needs a monarch, but the line of succession is no longer clear. With a ruling council scheming to gain power, Carys and Andreus are faced with only one option—to take part in a Trial of Succession that will determine which one of them is worthy of ruling the kingdom.

As sister and brother, Carys and Andreus have always kept each other safe—from their secrets, from the court, and from the monsters lurking in the mountains beyond the kingdom’s wall. But the Trial of Succession will test the bonds of trust and family.

With their country and their hearts divided, Carys and Andreus will discover exactly what each will do to win the crown. How long before suspicion takes hold and the thirst for power leads to the ultimate betrayal?

Praise for Dividing Eden:

“Charbonneau’s skill as a thriller writer will hook readers as the tension between the siblings grows and the Trial of Succession rushes towards an explosive end... This new fantasy will give them plenty to sink their teeth into.” (Booklist)

PRAISE FOR JOELLE CHARBONNEAU: “The rising tension, skillfully executed scenarios, and rich characterizations all contribute to an exciting story bound to capture readers’ imaginations. . . . Charbonneau works action, romance, intrigue, and a plausible dystopian premise into a near-flawless narrative.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review))

“Fast-paced and full of crosses and double-crosses, right to the cliffhanger ending.” (Booklist)

“Charbonneau has created an elegantly organized plot. . . The tension and conflict will have readers at the edge of their seats as the imagery and complexities of the characters and plot design are exposed.” (Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA))

“Charbonneau delivers a tightly paced thriller packed with enough tension to keep teens hooked until the dramatic finale.” (School Library Journal)

“Joelle Charbonneau made test-taking terrifying in her best-selling trilogy, The Testing. Now, she turns her dystopian eye towards social networks and teens’ wishes in Need.” (EW.com)

About the Author:

JOELLE CHARBONNEAU is a storyteller at heart. She has performed in a variety of operas, musical theatre and children's theatre productions across the Chicagoland area. In addition to her stage work, Joelle has also performed with several bands and worked as a solo performer.

While Joelle is happy to perform for an audience, she is equally delighted to teach private voice lessons and use her experience from the stage to create compelling characters in her books. She is the author of the NY Times and USA Today Best Selling THE TESTING TRILOGY (The Testing, Independent Study and Graduation Day), the social media thriller NEED, the fantasy thriller DIVIDING EDEN as well as the Rebecca Robbins (Minotaur Books), the Glee Club Paige Marshall (Berkley) mysteries. Her books have been nominated for the Agatha and Anthony Awards as well as listed on the YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers, and nominated for the YALSA Top Ten books for 2014.