Grand Rapids author Kristina Riggle presents Vivian in Red

Date
Wednesday, September 14, 2016 - 7:00pm
Department

Schuler Books & Music
2660 28th Street SE 
Grand Rapids, MI 49512

Vivian in Red Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781943818167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Polis Books - September 13th, 2016

Famed Broadway producer Milo Short may be eighty-eight but that doesn't stop him from going to the office every day. So when he steps out of his Upper West Side brownstone on one exceptionally hot morning, he's not expecting to see the impossible: a woman from his life sixty years ago, cherry red lips, bright red hat, winking at him on a New York sidewalk, looking just as beautiful as she did back in 1934.

The sight causes him to suffer a stroke. And when he comes to, the renowned lyricist discovers he has lost the ability to communicate. Milo believes he must unravel his complicated history with Vivian Adair in order to win back his words. But he needs help—in the form of his granddaughter Eleanor— failed journalist and family misfit. Tapped to write her grandfather’s definitive biography, Eleanor must dig into Milo’s colorful past to discover the real story behind Milo’s greatest song Love Me, I Guess, and the mysterious woman who inspired an amazing life.

A sweeping love story, family mystery and historical drama set eighty years apart, Vivian in Red will swell your heart like a favorite song while illuminating Broadway like you've never seen before.

Praise for Vivian in Red

"With Vivian in Red, Kristina Riggle proves herself a master storyteller. Her expertly drawn characters and New York City itself pulse with life in this stunning novel loaded with family secrets, passionate love, and the magic of Broadway. An absolute joy to read.”

—Tasha Alexander, New York Times bestselling author of Tears of Pearl

Vivian in Red is an enchanting swirl of love, family, history, theater, and an ode to what we leave behind and what we still have left to discover. Add Kristina Riggle to the list of historical fiction masters.”

—Allison Winn Scotch, New York Times bestselling author of In Twenty Years


We love welcoming fiction author Kristina Riggle to the store, so we were delighted to hear of the release of her new novel Vivian in Red, which has been getting fantastic reviews! In all of her novels, Kristina has a keen eye for family dynamics that keeps readers returning with each new release. In Vivian in Red she delves deep into a family mystery spanning current times to 1930s Broadway to fantastic effect. She's sure to win new fans with her smart mix of contemporary and historical fiction.

About the Author:

Kristina Riggle lives and writes in West Michigan. Her debut novel, Real Life & Liars, was a Target "Breakout" pick and a "Great Lakes, Great Reads" selection by the Great Lakes Independent Booksellers Association. The Life You’ve Imagined was honored by independent booksellers as an IndieNext “Notable” book. Things We Didn't Say was named a Midwest Connections pick of the Midwest Booksellers Association. Her latest novels are Keepsake and The Whole Golden World, which was lauded by Bookreporter.com as "a riveting and thought-provoking page-turner that will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Chris Bohjalian."

Kristina has published short stories in the Cimarron Review, Literary Mama, Espresso Fiction, and elsewhere, and is a former co-editor for fiction at Literary Mama. Kristina was a full-time newspaper reporter before turning her attention to creative writing. As well as writing, she enjoys reading, yoga, dabbling in (very) amateur musical theatre, and spending lots of time with her husband, two kids and dog. Visit her online at kristinariggle.net or on Twitter at @KrisRiggle.

Files