Michigan native Erin McCahan presents young adult novel The Lake Effect

Date
Tuesday, July 18, 2017 - 7:00pm
Department

Schuler Books & Music
2660 28th Street SE 
Grand Rapids, MI 49512

The Lake Effect Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780803740525
Availability: On Our Shelves Now-Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Dial Books - July 11th, 2017

It’s the summer after senior year, and Briggs Henry is out the door. He's leaving behind his ex-girlfriend and his parents’ money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches, working a summer job as a personal assistant, and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the shore. It's the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents one day when he’s a multimillionaire. But then he gets there. And his eighty-four-year-old boss tells him to put on a suit for her funeral. So begins a summer of social gaffes, stomach cramps, fraught beach volleyball games, moonlit epiphanies, and a drawer full of funeral programs. Add to this Abigail, the mystifying girl next door on whom Briggs's charms just won’t work, and “the lake effect” is taking on a whole new meaning.

Smart, funny, and honest, THE LAKE EFFECT is about realizing that playing along is playing it safe, and that you can only become who you truly are if you're willing to take the risk. Great for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Adi Alsaid, and Jenny Han, THE LAKE EFFECT is the perfect book to slip into your pool bag this summer and to add to your summer reading round-ups.

Praise for The Lake Effect

“This thoroughly enjoyable read is a seductive invitation to relax and let life happen.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Elegant and touching . . . [and] heartwarming, illustrating the ways that family can expand beyond blood."—Publishers Weekly

“Refreshingly honest and real. Every one of Erin McCahan’s characters rings perfectly unique and true — you’ll laugh with them, struggle with them, and you’ll seriously hate to leave them when the book is over. An absolute must-read.”—Elise Allen, New York Times bestselling co-author of Elixir

“A slew of funerals, an intriguing Q-Tip of a girl next door, and the charming Briggs Henry make The Lake Effect the perfect beachside read! This is an unforgettable story about a boy who thinks he’s got his future figured out, a girl who knows what she wants but is scared to get it, and a little adorable Serbian woman calling all the shots. The Lake Effect will pull you in like the waves of the lake and won’t let you go until the last satisfying page!”—Stephanie Elliot, author of Sad Perfect


Join us for a talk and signing with Grand Haven native Erin McCahan, as she presents her critically acclaimed young adult novel The Lake Effect, A funny, bracing, poignant YA romance and coming-of-age for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything.

When eighteen-year-old Briggs Henry decides to work for an eighty-four-year-old widow at her house on Lake Michigan the summer before college, he assumes he’ll take her to doctor appointments and help her with house work. Wrong. Briggs tries to leave behind his family and school troubles for a relaxing summer on the lake and instead encounters an eccentric elderly woman, tight-knit locals, and an enigmatic girl. Great for summer reading round-ups and Best YA of July round-ups, The Lake Effect is the perfect title for readers looking for a funny and refreshing summer romance set in Michigan!

About the Author

ERIN MCCAHAN is a native Michigander who grew up on the beaches of Grand Haven and Macatawa. Now a resident of landlocked New Albany, Ohio, she and her husband return every summer to North Beach in South Haven, on the shores of Lake Michigan. Look for them under the red-and-white-striped umbrella. Visit Erin at www.erinmccahan.com and on Twitter at @erinmccahan.