Okemos Native Katie Slivensky presents The Countdown Conspiracy

Date
Thursday, September 28, 2017 - 7:00pm
Department

Schuler Books & Music
1982 Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864

The Countdown Conspiracy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062462558
Availability: On Our Shelves Now-Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: HarperCollins - August 1st, 2017

Join us for an author talk and signing with Okemos High School grad Katie Slivensky – now an educator at the Museum of Science in Boston – as she presents her debut middle grade science novel The Countdown Conspiracy! Get ready to blast off with this high-action, high-stakes middle grade adventure that’s perfect for fans of Chris Grabenstein and Peter Lerangis! The Martian meets The Goonies in this out-of-this-world middle grade debut where the stakes couldn’t be higher.


About the Book

Ambassador, you are go for launch in T- minus 5…4…3…2….

Miranda Regent can’t believe she was just chosen as one of six kids from around the world to train for the first ever mission to Mars. But as soon as the official announcement is made, she begins receiving anonymous threatening messages…and when the training base is attacked, it looks like Miranda is the intended target. Now the entire mission—and everyone’s lives—are at risk. And Miranda may be the only one who can save them.

About the Author

KATIE SLIVENSKY is an educator at the Museum of Science in Boston, where she coordinates school visits, does presentations with alligators and liquid nitrogen (not usually at the same time), and runs the rooftop observatory program.

Katie has worked in zoos and museums since age 11. She earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Michigan, and a Masters degree in Paleoanthropology from Stony Brook University. Her love of science has only ever been rivaled by her love of writing and storytelling, and combining them was the biggest EUREKA! moment of her life.

Katie lives in a suburb of Boston with her two completely absurd cats, Galileo and Darwin. She is represented by Ammi-Joan Paquette of the Erin Murphy Literary Agency.