Terminal Alliance Launch with Sci-Fi author Jim C. Hines

Date
Monday, November 6, 2017 - 7:00pm
Department

Schuler Books & Music
2660 28th Street SE 
Grand Rapids, MI 49512

Terminal Alliance Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780756412746
Availability: On Our Shelves Now-Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Daw Books - November 7th, 2017

The Krakau came to Earth to invite humanity into a growing alliance of sentient species. However, they happened to arrive after a mutated plague wiped out half the planet, turned the rest into shambling, near-unstoppable animals, and basically destroyed human civilization. You know—your standard apocalypse.

The Krakau’s first impulse was to turn around and go home. (After all, it’s hard to have diplomatic relations with mindless savages who eat your diplomats.) Their second impulse was to try to fix us. Now, a century later, human beings might not be what they once were, but at least they’re no longer trying to eat everyone. Mostly.

Marion “Mops” Adamopoulos is surprisingly bright (for a human). As a Lieutenant on the Earth Mercenary Corps Ship Pufferfish, she’s in charge of the Shipboard Hygiene and Sanitation team. When a bioweapon attack wipes out the Krakau command crew and reverts the rest of the humans to their feral state, only Mops and her team are left with their minds intact.

Escaping the attacking aliens—not to mention her shambling crewmates—is only the beginning. Sure, Mops and her team of space janitors and plumbers can clean the ship as well as anyone, but flying the damn thing is another matter.

As they struggle to keep the Pufferfish functioning and find a cure for their crew, they stumble onto a conspiracy that could threaten the entire alliance… a conspiracy born from the truth of what happened on Earth all those years ago. 


We are pleased to kick off the release of popular fantasy author Jim C. Hines’ new humor sci-fi series Janitors of the Post-Apocalypse, with a talk and signing for the first book, Terminal Alliance! In his hilarious new series, Jim introduces the unlikely heroes that may just save the galaxy: a crew of space janitors.


Jim C. Hines has proven himself a master of humorous fantasy with his Jig the Goblin novels, and has turned the usual fantasy tropes sideways and upside down with his Princess and his Magic Ex Libris series. With Terminal Alliance, Jim takes us into a brand-new universe of entertainment certain to appeal to fans of both Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett.

Praise for Jim C. Hines:

"An engaging writer who is also greatly entertaining, and I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys superior worldbuilding." —Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling writer

"I picked up the book meaning to read a few pages. My first thought was, 'This is a cool concept.' The second thing I thought was, 'This is really, really clever.' The third thing I thought was, 'I should have gone to sleep three hours ago.'" —Patrick Rothfuss, #1 New York Times bestselling writer

"Hines explores cultural and political concerns in a thoughtful manner, leaving the reader with more food for thought than perhaps one might expect.... Hines avoids the pitfalls many writers would struggle to miss in the crafting of this excellent tale." —RT Reviews

"Hines' love for speculative genre literature shines through on every page. In many ways, this series is an ode to the weird, the batshit, and the wonderful imaginative possibilities of speculative fiction.... A+ fun book adventure, would book again.... I look forward to whatever Hines brings us next." —Tor.com

"Like a good pinball game, Isaac's adventures are frantic, fascinating, and more than a little noisy. Hines supplies everything a reader needs--werewolves, ghosts, robot insects, a fire spider that eats candy, and homages to classic SF--for a very good time." —Publishers Weekly

About the Author

Jim C. Hines is the author of numerous fantasy novels, including the Magic ex Libris series, the Princess series of fairy tale retellings, and the humorous Goblin Quest trilogy. He’s an active blogger, and won the 2012 Hugo Award for Best Fan Writer. He lives in mid-Michigan with his family.