What Monstrous Gods (Hardcover)

What Monstrous Gods By Rosamund Hodge Cover Image

What Monstrous Gods (Hardcover)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
Grand Rapids
2 on hand, as of Apr 16 8:11am
(YA - Sci-fi / Fantasy)
Okemos
1 on hand, as of Apr 16 8:11am
(YA - Sci-fi / Fantasy)
Ann Arbor
2 on hand, as of Apr 16 8:11am
(YA - Sci-fi / Fantasy)
West Bloomfield
2 on hand, as of Apr 16 8:11am
(YA - Sci-fi / Fantasy)

A rich and romantic new stand-alone fantasy loosely inspired by the classic Sleeping Beauty fairy tale, from the New York Times bestselling author of Cruel Beauty!

Perfect for fans of These Violent Delights and The Shadow Queen.

Centuries ago, the heretic sorcerer Ruven raised a deadly briar around Runakhia's palace, casting the royal family into an enchanted sleep—and silencing the kingdom's gods.

Born with a miraculous gift, Lia's destiny is to kill Ruven and wake the royals. But when she succeeds, she finds her duty is not yet complete, for now she must marry into the royal family and forge a pact with a god—or die.

To make matters even worse, Ruven's spirit is haunting her.

As discord grows between the old and new guards, the queen sends Lia and Prince Araunn, her betrothed, on a pilgrimage to awaken the gods. But the old gods are more dangerous than Lia ever knew—and Ruven may offer her only hope of survival.

As the two work together, Lia learns that they're more alike than she expected. And with tensions rising, Lia must choose between what she was raised to believe and what she knows is right—and between the prince she is bound to by duty...and the boy she killed.

Rosamund Hodge grew up as a homeschooler in Los Angeles, where she spent her time reading everything she could lay her hands on, but especially fantasy and mythology. She got a BA in English from the University of Dallas and an MSt in Medieval English from Oxford, and she now lives in Seattle with a mountain of books and the most beautiful dog in the world. Visit her online at rosamundhodge.net.

Product Details ISBN: 9780062869135
ISBN-10: 0062869132
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: March 5th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English

“In this complex fantasy, Hodge delivers a thoughtful meditation on the relationship between faith and obedience, as well as religious and secular power.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A haunting tale of gods and magic and those caught in between. Hodge’s complex world building and richly developed characters will ensnare contemplative readers as the story explores the murky yet powerful worlds of politics and religion as well as themes of truth, purpose, and choice." — Booklist

“A sharply original blend of romance and dark fantasy.”  — Kirkus Reviews

"Hodge brings her trademark rich worldbuilding and emotional eloquence to a dramatic premise that’s also darkly, ironically funny, the kind of subversive humor that balances on the knife-edge of despair." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Inventive and richly imagined, What Monstrous Gods is a beautiful story of faith with teeth—lost, found, and fought for” — Hannah Whitten, New York Times bestselling author of For the Wolf

“A searing, fiercely inventive story of misplaced faith and what it takes to fully reimagine your place in the world.” — Laura Weymouth, author of The Light Between Worlds and The Treason of Thorns

“A gut-wrenching meditation on faith and divine love, with a heartbreakingly impossible romance set in a vivid, brutal world. Monstrous, brilliant, and beautiful.” — Joanna Ruth Meyer, author of Echo North and Into the Heartless Wood

PRAISE FOR Endless Water, Starless Sky: “More romantic and even more mystical than its predecessor.” — Booklist

Praise for BRIGHT SMOKE, COLD FIRE: “A bloody and bold tale for those who want some Romero with their Romeo.” — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for BRIGHT SMOKE, COLD FIRE: “An atmospheric tale that pits loyalty to kin against loyalty to self and loyalty to loved ones.” — School Library Journal

Praise for BRIGHT SMOKE, COLD FIRE: “High stakes, desperate love, and a healthy dose of gore keep this update fresh and intriguing.” — Booklist

Praise for BRIGHT SMOKE, COLD FIRE: “Hodge tackles a well-known tale…with a tougher heroine and a dark twist.” — Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Praise for CRIMSON BOUND: “This novel will captivate readers. Outstanding.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for CRIMSON BOUND: “An intoxicatingly dark story of love, lust, murder, and redemption.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

Praise for CRIMSON BOUND: “Plot twists and romance keep the pages turning in this grim and intricate take on the classic tale.” — Booklist

Praise for CRIMSON BOUND: “The unusual, intricately woven story and themes make for a worthwhile read.” — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “An intricate and arresting tale.” — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “The push and pull romance between Nyx and Ignifex is pure fairy tale, but the characters themselves are complex and genuinely human as they struggle with their own culpability in a situation that forces them to choose between selfishness and selflessness.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “An entertaining read for teens who enjoy romantic fantasy.” — School Library Journal

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “Hodge has created a rich, complete world in this twist on ‘Beauty and the Beast.’” — Publishers Weekly

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “[A] fast-paced romantic fantasy.” — Booklist

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “Will have readers clutching the book and flying through the pages.” — Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “A dazzling and clever retelling, Cruel Beauty is delightfully dark, lushly romantic, and utterly spellbinding. I adored it, and can’t wait to read Hodge’s next novel!” — Sarah J. Maas, author of the best-selling Throne of Glass series

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “A completely engrossing tale.”

Alex Flinn, New York Times bestselling author of Beastly and Towering

Praise for CRUEL BEAUTY: “What a stunning debut. This is a book you will want to read as fast as you can for the intricate plot and as slowly as you can to savor the gorgeous world-building and the ravishing love story.” — Sherry Thomas, author of The Burning Sky