Dead Witch Walking (Hollows #1) (Paperback)

The spellbinding first installment in Kim Harrison’s #1 New York Times bestselling Hollows series featuring bounty hunter and witch Rachel Morgan, now in trade paperback for the first time with a brand-new look!

In the Hollows, it’s always witching hour.

The Hollows of Cincinnati is a playground for the creatures of the night, and vampires rule the darkness in a world rife with dangers beyond imagining. Rachel Morgan, bounty hunter and witch, helps keep that world civilized. And she’s damn good at her job.

But the tables turn when Rachel makes a wish for independence and finds herself with a target on her back, a bounty on her head, and a shortage of allies to turn to. Reluctantly, she teams up with Ivy, another hunter who just happens to be a living vampire, and someone Rachel isn’t sure she can trust.

Rachel is desperate to find a way clear her name, one way or another. But it’s a tricky—and dangerous—task in the Hollows, where nothing is ever as it seems.

Kim Harrison is best known as the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Hollows series, but she has written more than urban fantasy and has published more than two dozen books, spanning the gamut from young adult, accelerated-science thriller, and several anthologies and has scripted two original graphic novels set in the Hollows universe. She has also published traditional fantasy under the name Dawn Cook. Kim is currently working on a new Hollows book between other, nonrelated, urban fantasy projects.

Product Details ISBN: 9780063391062
ISBN-10: 0063391066
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: August 27th, 2024
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: Hollows

“You’ll love this bounty-hunter team. Ivy’s a vampire with poor self-control, and Rachel’s a witch with impulse issues. In fact, Rachel has a price on her own head. But Rachel has a chance for survival if she sticks with Ivy and their pixie sidekick, Jenks. Dead Witch Walking is a fun-fair ride through a fascinating version of our world.” — Charlaine Harris, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels

“I have to admit: I was absolutely floored by this book. Fascinating concept, great setup, believable setting, gripping characters, and a fast-paced plot that doesn’t let up for a single page. … For those who like urban fantasy, for fans of Hamilton, Butcher, Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse novels, and for those who like a good blend of magic and action, this is one book not to miss.” — SF Site

Dead Witch Walking is a wonderfully fun romp through the supernatural world, a spellbinding blend of sharp wit and vivid imagination that left me eagerly awaiting the sequel.” — Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Bitten

Dead Witch Walking takes the reader on a real page-turner of a mystery filled with magical mayhem and Inderlander intrigue within a fascinating and unique story world. It isn’t easy to write a protagonist that blends the best qualities of Anita Blake and Stephanie Plum, but Kim Harrison carries it off with style. This is a fun book! Read it!” — Jim Butcher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Dresden Files

“Cross Stephanie Plum with Buffy Summers and you could end up with Rachel Morgan… Harrison’s super-strong debut fantasy keeps readers guessing, and a satisfying conclusion leaves just enough dangling to make readers impatient for a follow-up. The gritty tone balances a light touch, creating truly funny moments as well as breathless suspense.” (Four 1/2 stars, Gold medal) — Romantic Times BOOKclub

“Fast-paced and loads of fun—the perfect read when you just want to get away from things for a bit.” — Fantasy & Science Fiction