A Much Married Man: A Novel (Paperback)

A Much Married Man: A Novel Cover Image
$29.99
Not on our shelves. Usually ships in 2-5 days
(This book cannot be returned.)

Description


From one of the sharpest observers of the modern scene comes this witty, intelligent, and irresistible novel in the tradition of Gosford Park and Snobs.

Anthony Anscombe has everything he could ever want: an exquisite family estate, enviable social standing, and a desirable inheritance. But Anthony still has an aching desire for one thing: the perfect match. Running headlong into marriage is Anthony's forte . . . and his greatest weakness. As he surveys his beautiful house in the English countryside, Anthony has the distinct feeling that he's under siege. He may be surrounded by his sprawling estate, but lurking in the village are more than one or two reminders of his complicated past, including three ex-wives, a mistress, and a legion of children and stepchildren, all dependent on him and all determined to do whatever it takes to get what they want.

A Much Married Man is a wickedly funny social satire with characters that will stay with readers long after the final page. Like a modern-day Edith Wharton or Anthony Trollope, Nicholas Coleridge delivers a sensational glimpse inside the salacious world of the upper classes.

About the Author


Nicholas Coleridge is managing director of Condé Nast in Britain, the magazine publishing house that includes Vogue, Tatler, House & Garden and Vanity Fair. His bestselling novels, including The Adventuress and A Much Married Man, have been published in twelve languages.  He lives in England with his family.

Praise For…


“A keen observer of class, manners and sexual frisson, Coleridge is a master of the social romp.” —Graydon Carter, Editor-in-Chief, Vanity Fair

“[Coleridge] layers his prose with flawless detail, wit and affection for his ever-expanding cast of characters.” —USA Today

“Coleridge skillfully handles a small army of sharply drawn characters. . . . he has a real talent for humor, delivered in a deadpan fashion.” —Boston Globe

“Nicholas Coleridge makes a witty and acerbic guide to this arcane, and largely secret, world. Unlike many silver fork writers, Coleridge is a well-informed insider and, as such, his humor is only too painfully accurate.” —Julian Fellowes, author of Snobs; Academy Award-winning writer of Gosford Park

A Much Married Man is funny, touching and flawless in its detail. Nicholas Coleridge is the best sociologist of British upper class life since Anthony Powell.” —Tina Brown

“I burned the midnight oil to read A Much Married Man…I loved the book, Nicholas has perfect pitch on class and a miraculous eye on changing society over the past forty years…the whole book is by turns gloriously bitchy, extremely funny and ultimately touching.” —Jilly Cooper, author of Class and Player

“This is a big, pacy, ambitious and thoroughly entertaining book. Coleridge is brilliant on the detail… he inspires the most gloriously waspish turns of phrase.” —Daily Mail (London)

“Coleridge's wickedly funny novel is guaranteed to amuse. ... a must for the beach this summer.” —Glamour UK

“This extravagantly enjoyable novel wins credit on so many levels I hardly know where to begin… A Much Married Man is irresistible.” —Sunday Telegraph

“Anyone battled by the conundrum of what to read this summer need look no further than A Much Married Man.” —The Spectator

“[A] long and luscious novel… touching and funny.” —The Observer



Product Details
ISBN: 9780312382261
ISBN-10: 031238226X
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: May 27th, 2008
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Thomas Dunne Books