Six Crimson Cranes (Hardcover)

Six Crimson Cranes Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Grand Rapids
3 on hand, as of Nov 29 10:05am
(YA - Sci-fi / Fantasy)
Okemos
5 on hand, as of Nov 29 10:05am
(YA - Sci-fi / Fantasy)

July/August 2021 Kids Indie Next List


“This book lives WELL up to the high expectations created after the gorgeousness that was/is Spin the Dawn. With a diverse cast and unique world building, Lim is an author I love recommending to teens who enjoy Laini Taylor and Tomi Adeyemi.”
— Hannah Oxley, Mystery to Me, Madison, WI

Description


NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

"A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling." --Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

Shiori'anma, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted. But it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

A sorceress in her own right, Raikama banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes. She warns Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Penniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and uncovers a dark conspiracy to seize the throne. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in a paper bird, a mercurial dragon, and the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she's been taught all her life to forswear--no matter what the cost.
 
Weaving together elements of The Wild Swans, Cinderella, the legend of Chang E, and the Tale of the Bamboo Cutter, Elizabeth Lim has crafted a fantasy like no other, and one that will stay with readers long after they've turned the last page.
 
"A stunning remake of a fairytale. Six Crimson Cranes is the perfect blend of whimsy and ferociousness, with twists and turns that will tug at your heartstrings." —Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights
 
"Fast-paced excitement is balanced with a satisfyingly intricate plot that weaves in elements from Western fairy tales and East Asian folklore." —SLJ, starred review


“A richly imagined landscape . . . vibrant, fast-paced.
Publishers Weekly, starred review
 

About the Author


ELIZABETH LIM grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area, where she was raised on a hearty diet of fairy tales, myths, and songs. Before becoming an author, Elizabeth was a professional film and video game composer, and she still tends to come up with her best book ideas when writing near a piano. An alumna of Harvard College and the Juilliard School, she now lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters.

Elizabeth's internationally bestselling novels include Spin the Dawn, Unravel the Dusk, and Six Crimson Cranes. She is also a contributor to Disney’s "A Twisted Tale” series.

Visit her at elizabethlim.com
Follow her on Twitter at @LizLim
Follow her on Instagram at @elimpix

Praise For…


"A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling. Six Crimson Cranes elegantly weaves between whimsical and heart pounding as it takes readers on a magical adventure full of entwined fates, surprising curses, and beautiful mythology. It also has a very sexy dragon.” " —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"This book is magic! The writing will transport you, and you will love Shiori. I myself loved her from the moment she jumped out the window to escape her betrothal ceremony—which was the very first scene." —Kristin Cashore, New York Times bestselling author of Graceling

"
A stunning remake of a fairytale. Six Crimson Cranes is the perfect blend of whimsy and ferociousness, with twists and turns that will tug at your heartstrings." —Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

"A resilient heroine, a cast of imaginative characters, and creative plot turns make this gem of a novel sparkle." —Stacey Lee, award-winning author of The Downstairs Girl

“A gorgeous version of an old fairy tale, told with flair and originality. A must-read for lovers of folkloric fantasy.” —Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of Daughter of the Forest and Wildwood Dancing

"An unputdownable, sweeping fairytale that thrills as much as it delights. Lim is a master storyteller which is apparent with every magical turn of the page." —Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Kingdom of the Wicked

"Six Crimson Cranes
is a fairytale that feels at once both epic and intimate. Shiori’s quest to save her brothers, her kingdom, and herself is heartfelt, riveting, and as magical as the talents the princess tries so hard to hide." —Sarah Henning, bestselling author of Sea Witch and The Princess Will Save You

"Seamlessly intertwining western and East Asian folklore, Lim embroiders a richly imagined landscape in this vibrant, fast-paced duology starter." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Fast-paced excitement is balanced with a satisfyingly intricate plot that weaves in elements from Western fairy tales and East Asian folklore. A must-read for fans of folklore– and fairy tale–inspired fantasy." —SLJ, starred review

"Part exciting adventure, part thoughtful coming-of-age novel, this story retells and overturns familiar tropes." —Kirkus Reviews

“Magic abounds in this mesmerizing YA fantasy based on East Asian folklore and fairy tales.” Shelf Awareness


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593300916
ISBN-10: 0593300912
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 6th, 2021
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Six Crimson Cranes