Into the Wilderness: The Long Hunters (Westerward America! #1) (Mass Market)

Into the Wilderness: The Long Hunters (Westerward America! #1) Cover Image
$7.99
Email or call for price.

Description


Set in 1750's Pennsylvania, INTO THE WILDERNESS depicts life in the Allegheny Mountains and the Northeast at the beginning of the French and Indian War. Noah Wilde is a "long hunter," a man who hunts game for settlements and forts and is sometimes gone for months at a time.

Sixteen-year-old Jessica Matthews is attacked by Ottawa Indians and is saved by Noah, who is wounded in the encounter. As Noah recovers at Jessica's mountain cabin, he and Jessica fall in love, but Noah, who is secretly spying for the English government, has a mission to fulfill and is forced to leave once he recovers.

Noah's role in an earlier French versus English battle forces his imprisonment, and he is unable to return to Jessica in time to save her and her family from an Indian attack that leaves her parents and brother dead and sees Jessica captured by Delaware Indians.

After his release, Noah is sent on a new mission with a young George Washington, and when he discovers what happened to Jessica, he leaves to search for her. He once again risks his life to free her.

Although Noah and Jessica are fictitious characters, INTO THE WILDERNESS is filled with real history, characters, and adventures that depict the courage and determination necessary for the birth and growth of the United States of America.

About the Author


Published since 1983, Rosanne Bittner is known nationally and internationally, with 58 titles and several million books in print. Rosanne writes historical romance and sagas involving real American history, especially stories about America’s Old West and its Native Americans.

Rosanne has won numerous writing awards and has been inducted into romance magazine Affaire de Couer’s Hall of Fame for longevity and endurance in the market and for overall appeal to readers. She has received numerous favorable reviews in Publishers Weekly, and was a finalist for Women Writing the West’s prestigious WILLA award for her novel Where Heaven Begins, set in the Yukon during the gold rush. In 2012 romance magazine Romantic Times named Rosanne a "Legend of Historical Romance."

Rosanne is a member of the Nebraska and Montana State Historical Societies, Women Writing the West, Western Writers of America and Romance Writers of America (Mid-Michigan Chapter). Rosanne and her husband Larry live in southwest Michigan and have two sons and three grandsons. Locally Rosanne is a Board member of the Coloma Lioness Club, a charity organization.

You can learn more about Rosanne and her latest publications through her web site, her blog, and by visiting her on Facebook and Twitter. Rosanne also contributes to numerous writers’ sites, such as Goodreads, and a number of blog sites.

Praise For…


“Bittner is one of those writers whose talents has grown over the years; that talent truly blossoms.” —Publishers Weekly

“The author's clever juxtaposition of the fierce warrior behavior with touching acts of tribal kindness result in a three-dimensional picture of Native Americans. The powerful dual portrait of Jess, a remarkable survivor, and Noah, an experienced hunter and canny diplomat, gets this series off to an auspicious start.” —Publishers Weekly

“Fans of The Last of the Mohicans and Donald Clayton Porter's ‘White Indian' series will find this book satisfying.” —Library Journal

“The colorful backdrop and historical accuracy make this a wonderful beginning to a promising series.” —Romantic Times



Product Details
ISBN: 9780765340221
ISBN-10: 0765340224
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: March 14th, 2003
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Westerward America!