Stella Díaz Never Gives Up (Stella Diaz #2) (Paperback)

Stella Díaz Never Gives Up (Stella Diaz #2) By Angela Dominguez, Angela Dominguez (Illustrator) Cover Image

Stella Díaz Never Gives Up (Stella Diaz #2) (Paperback)

$6.99


On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Okemos
1 on hand, as of Aug 13 12:04pm
(CH - Intermediate Readers)

From award-winning author Angela Dominguez comes the novel Stella Diaz Never Gives Up, a story about a shy Mexican-American girl who becomes an environmental activist and makes a difference in her community.

Stella gets a big surprise when her mom plans a trip to visit their family in Mexico! Stella loves marine animals, and she can't wait to see the ocean for the first time . . . until she arrives and learns that the sea and its life forms are in danger due to pollution.

Stella wants to save the ocean, but she knows she can't do it alone. It's going to take a lot of work and help from old and new friends to make a difference, but Stella Díaz never gives up!

This is the second middle-grade novel from award-winning picture book author and illustrator Angela Dominguez. Based on the author's experiences growing up Mexican-American, this infectiously charming character comes to life through relatable story-telling including simple Spanish vocabulary and adorable black-and-white art throughout.

A Chicago Public Library Best Book of 2020 for Younger Readers

Angela Dominguez was born in Mexico City and grew up in the great state of Texas. She now resides on the east coast with her boyfriend, Kyle, and their petite dog, Petunia. She is also the author and illustrator of several books for children and a two-time recipient of Pura Belpré Illustration Honor. Her debut middle grade novel, Stella Díaz Has Something To Say, was a New York Public Library and a Chicago Public Library pick for Best Books for Kids, Sid Fleischman Award winner, and an ALA Notable. She recently illustrated Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor’s newest picture book, Just Help! How to Build a Better World. As a child, she loved reading books and making a mess creating pictures. She’s delighted to still be doing both.

Angela Dominguez was born in Mexico City and grew up in the great state of Texas. She now resides on the east coast with her boyfriend, Kyle, and their petite dog, Petunia. She is also the author and illustrator of several books for children and a two-time recipient of Pura Belpré Illustration Honor. Her debut middle grade novel, Stella Díaz Has Something To Say, was a New York Public Library and a Chicago Public Library pick for Best Books for Kids, Sid Fleischman Award winner, and an ALA Notable. She recently illustrated Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor’s newest picture book, Just Help! How to Build a Better World. As a child, she loved reading books and making a mess creating pictures. She’s delighted to still be doing both.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250762719
ISBN-10: 1250762715
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: January 12th, 2021
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Stella Diaz

“Readers don't need familiarity with Stella Díaz Has Something To Say to fall in love with [Stella]. The protagonist will endear readers to her; she may also create some environmental converts.” —Kirkus Reviews

“A stellar sequel or stand-alone title with a plot that strikes the perfect balance between character-driven action and activism.” —School Library Journal

Praise for Stella Diaz Has Something to Say:

2019 Sid Fleischman Award winner
A 2019 Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) Notable Children's Book
A New York Public Library Best Book for Kids 2018
Top 10 Showstopper Favorite
One of Chicago Public Library's "Best of the Best Books 2018"

“Fans of Clementine and Alvin Ho will be delighted to meet Stella.” —School Library Journal, starred review

“Readers should easily relate to Stella, her struggle to use her voice, and the way she feels caught between worlds at school and at home.” —Publishers Weekly

“An excellent, empowering addition to middle grade collections.” —Booklist

“A nice and timely depiction of an immigrant child experience.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Readers will agree with Stella’s mother and brother that she is, as her name suggests, a star.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“A rich narrative.” —Horn Book

“Delightfully rich, both humorous and sensitive.” —Margarita Engle, Young People's Poet Laureate

“Stella Díaz is a delight!” —Monica Brown, author of the Lola Levine series

“Shy yet spunky Stella speaks to feeling different, to conquering fears in order to make a new friend, and to learning that, like the starfish who shares her name—Estrella—she is stronger than she thinks.” —Danielle Davis, author of Zinnia and the Bees

“An inspiring tale of self-discovery.” —Minh Le, author of Let Me Finish!