Paper Names (Hardcover)

Paper Names By Susie Luo Cover Image

Paper Names (Hardcover)

$30.00


Not on our shelves. Usually ships in 2-5 days.
*A Reader's Digest Best Book of 2023*
*A Publishers Lunch Buzz Book
?*
*A Book of the Month Club Pick*
*A Brit+Co Book to Read in 2023?*
*A Town & Country Best Book to Read in May*
*A Good Morning America Buzz Book Pick*

An unexpected act of violence brings together a Chinese-American family and a wealthy white lawyer in this propulsive and sweeping story of family, identity and the American experience--for fans of Jean Kwok, Mary Beth Keane and Naima Coster.

Set in New York and China over three decades, Paper Names explores what it means to be American from three different perspectives. There's Tony, a Chinese-born engineer turned Manhattan doorman, who immigrated to the United States to give his family a better life. His daughter, Tammy, who we meet at age nine and follow through adulthood, and who grapples with the expectations of a first generation American and her own personal desires. Finally, there's Oliver, a handsome white lawyer with a dark family secret and who lives in the building where Tony works. A sudden attack causes their lives to intertwine in ways that will change them forever.

Taut, panoramic and powerful, debut novelist Susie Luo's Paper Names is an unforgettable story about the long shadows of our parents, the ripple effect of our decisions and the ways in which our love transcends difference.
Product Details ISBN: 9781335426888
ISBN-10: 1335426884
Publisher: Hanover Square Press
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English