Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens: A Riveting New Regency Historical Mystery (A Wrexford & Sloane Mystery #5) (Paperback)

Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens: A Riveting New Regency Historical Mystery (A Wrexford & Sloane Mystery #5) By Andrea Penrose Cover Image

Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens: A Riveting New Regency Historical Mystery (A Wrexford & Sloane Mystery #5) (Paperback)

$16.95


On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Okemos
1 on hand, as of Oct 5 7:04pm
(Mystery)
Ann Arbor
1 on hand, as of Oct 5 7:03pm
(Mystery)

A USA Today bestseller!

“[Penrose] mixes well-thought out mysteries, early forensic science, great details of the era and a slow burning attraction creating a compulsive read.” —The New York Public Library

A thrilling new mystery novel from the acclaimed author of Murder at Queen’s Landing, perfect for fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anne Perry!



In the fifth installment of Andrea Penrose’s acclaimed, atmospheric mystery series, the upcoming marriage of the Earl of Wrexford and Lady Charlotte Sloane promises to be a highlight of the season, if they can first untangle—and survive—a web of intrigue and murder involving the most brilliant scientific minds in Regency London…

One advantage of being caught up in a whirl of dress fittings and decisions about flower arrangements and breakfast menus is that Charlotte Sloane has little time for any pre-wedding qualms. Her love for Wrexford isn’t in question. But will being a wife—and a Countess—make it difficult for her to maintain her independence—not to mention, her secret identity as famed satirical artist A.J. Quill?
 
Despite those concerns, there are soon even more urgent matters to attend to during Charlotte and Wrexford’s first public outing as an engaged couple. At a symposium at the Royal Botanic Gardens, a visiting botanist suffers a fatal collapse. The traces of white powder near his mouth reveal the dark truth—he was murdered. Drawn into the investigation, Charlotte and the Earl learn of the victim’s involvement in a momentous medical discovery. With fame and immense fortune at stake, there’s no shortage of suspects, including some whose ruthlessness is already known. But neither Charlotte nor her husband-to-be can realize how close the danger is about to get—or to what lengths this villain is prepared to go . . .
Andrea Penrose is the acclaimed author of Regency-era historical fiction, including the USA Today bestselling Wrexford & Sloane mystery series, as well as Regency romances written under the names Cara Elliott and Andrea Pickens. Published internationally in ten languages, she is a three-time RITA Award-finalist and the recipient of numerous writing awards, including two Daphne Du Maurier Awards for Historical Mystery and two Gold Leaf Awards. A graduate of Yale University with a B.A. in Art and an M.F.A. in Graphic Design, Andrea fell in love with Regency England after reading Pride and Prejudice, and has maintained a fascination with the era's swirling silks and radical new ideas throughout her writing career. She lives in Connecticut and blogs with a community of historical fiction authors at WordWenches.com. She also can be found at AndreaPenrose.com and on Instagram @AndreaPenroseBooks.
Product Details ISBN: 9781496732514
ISBN-10: 1496732510
Publisher: Kensington
Publication Date: July 26th, 2022
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: A Wrexford & Sloane Mystery