Wifwulf (Paperback)

Wifwulf By Jackson Lanzing, Collin Kelly, Andworld Design (Letterer), Dailen Ogden (Illustrator) Cover Image

Wifwulf (Paperback)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
Grand Rapids
2 on hand, as of May 27 12:06pm
(Graphic Novels)
Okemos
1 on hand, as of May 27 12:06pm
(Graphic Novels)
Ann Arbor
2 on hand, as of May 27 12:05pm
(Graphic Novels)
West Bloomfield
2 on hand, as of May 27 12:05pm
(Graphic Novels)
Angela Carter's The Company of Wolves and Emily Carroll's Through the Woods meet Squad (Maggie Tokuda-Hall and Lisa Sterle), in WIFWULF - a tale of transformation, blood, and beauty that calls to the wild freedom of our true selves within each of us.

A haunting story of deep loneliness, raw wounds, wild magic, and the freedom of transformation.

Wif. Noun, Old English: A Woman; this word is also the origina from which the word “wife” is derived. Contrast with “wer,” a man.
Wulf. Noun, Old English: A Wolf, a wild carnivorous mammal of the Canidae family, which lives and hunts in packs.

WIFWULF is an original folklore myth telling the story of Charity Bjornsdotter, a young woman in 1860's Montana who spends her days in the woods with her closest friend, a local wolf she calls Silver Slash. Charity is on the precipice of marriage to the most handsome man in her small village, the mercurial-yet-beloved Paul Skeld. But as her husband isolates her from Silver Slash, she begins to feel a call to the wilds...for it is there that her true destiny awaits. WIFWULF is the harrowing tale of a woman forcibly separated from that which makes her feel alive, a reinterpretation of the classic werewolf myth... and the origin story of a new goddess.

A successfully funded, beloved project on Kickstarter, WIFWULF explores a few facets of trauma but especially speaks to relationship abuse, something that has touched more than one member of the creative team. It’s a story that reminds us that even when you feel at your most monstrous, you can find your way back. But not unchanged.

It is also a story about werewolves. About bloody revenge and deep loneliness. About the secret, sad meaning behind the howls we hear from the dark forests on the darkest of nights.

Experience this haunting story in the dark of night, in whatever moonlit warren you call home – or shed your skin, embrace the night, and run wild with magic – and become forever changed.

This book contains mature content and may not be for everyone. WIFWULF contains gore, intimate partner violence, body horror, and animal death.

For fans of Emily Carroll's Through the Woods, Angela Carter's The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories (specifically: The Company of Wolves), works by Kelly Link, Carmen Maria Machado's Her Body and Other Parties, Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall and Lisa Sterle, Clarissa Pinkola Estés' Women Who Run With the Wolves: Myths and Stories of the Wild Woman Archetype, Kelly Armstrong's Bitten, Pretty Deadly by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Emma Rios, By Chance or Providence by Becky Cloonan, Monstress by Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda, and the films The Witch and Princess Mononoke (Hayao Miyazaki).

“This just may be the most beautiful ‘werewolf’ story I’ve ever consumed in any medium.”
-- Chris Shehan (The Autumnal, House of Slaughter)

"A luscious, vicious fever dream of a fairy tale about the cages we find ourselves in and the true cost of freedom. WIFWULF is the kind of story that lingers." -- Jody Houser (Harley Quinn & Poison Ivy, Stranger Things)
JACKSON LANZING is one half of New York Times Bestselling writing partnership known as “the Hivemind,” alongside Collin Kelly. The two met in college, where they first became bitter rivals before becoming best friends. Their work in comics includes Captain America: Sentinel of Liberty, Kang the Conqueror, Guardians of the Galaxy, Batman Beyond: Neo-Year, Dark One (with Brandon Sanderson), Joyride, and Star Trek — for which they received a 2023 Eisner nomination for Best New Series.  They also work in film, TV, games and, and are incredibly proud of their recently released middle-grade novel Thor Quest: Hammers of the Gods from Marvel Press.They live a few minutes from one another in Los Angeles, CA — along with their wives and far too many pets — where they spend their time reading, debating, playing music too loud, and enjoying every tabletop roleplaying game they can get their hands on.

COLLIN KELLY is one half of New York Times Bestselling writing partnership known as “the Hivemind,” alongside Jackson Lanzing. The two met in college, where they first became bitter rivals before becoming best friends. Their work in comics includes Captain America: Sentinel of Liberty, Kang the Conqueror, Guardians of the Galaxy, Batman Beyond: Neo-Year, Dark One (with Brandon Sanderson), Joyride, and Star Trek — for which they received a 2023 Eisner nomination for Best New Series. They also work in film, TV, games and, and are incredibly proud of their recently released middle-grade novel Thor Quest: Hammers of the Gods from Marvel Press. They live a few minutes from one another in Los Angeles, CA — along with their wives and far too many pets — where they spend their time reading, debating, playing music too loud, and enjoying every tabletop roleplaying game they can get their hands on.

DAILEN OGDEN is a freelance comic artist, writer, and illustrator based in Colorado. Dailen is known for their esoteric art and comics, and spends their free time collecting houseplants and raising a Shepherd puppy, as well as a tarantula and a python.

Dailen Ogden/Colorado
https://www.dailenogdenillustration.com/
https://twitter.com/DailenOgden
https://www.instagram.com/dailendailen/
https://www.facebook.com/DailenOgdenIllustration/
 
Product Details ISBN: 9781638491941
ISBN-10: 1638491941
Publisher: Vault Comics
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 112
Language: English