Astrid Sees All (Compact Disc)

Astrid Sees All Cover Image
$39.99
Backordered - Please call the store for availability

Description


Most Anticipated: The Great First Half 2021 by The Millions New York's last bohemia--the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s--is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith.New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her. With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan. When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness. She may have a chance to save herself--and Carmen, if she can find her--but to do it she must face what's hiding in the shadows she's been running from--within her heart and in the dangerous midnight streets. A love letter to gritty 1980s New York City, Astrid Sees All is an irresistible, original novel about female friendship, sex and romance, and what it's like to be a young woman searching for an identity.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781797120461
ISBN-10: 1797120468
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: April 6th, 2021
Language: English