The Cobra’s Song with Supriya Kelkar

Sunday, May 21, 2023 - 1:30pm

Schuler Books
Westgate Shopping Center
2513 Jackson Avenue
Ann Arbor, MI  48103 

We’re thrilled to welcome back one of our favorite people, local author Supriya Kelkar, to share her newest middle grade adventure steeped in Indian folklore about a girl learning to find her voice and face her fears. Her events are so popular, we’re offering two time slots to choose from! We hope to see you and your middle grade reader at one of them.

This event is free to attend. However it helps us in planning to receive your RSVP. Please register here so we know you plan to join us: https://supriyakelkar-schulerbooks.eventbrite.com

About the Book
From the author of American as Paneer Pie comes a magical middle grade adventure steeped in Indian folklore following a girl who learns how to find her voice and face her fears, perfect for fans of Aru Shah and Amina’s Song.

Ten-year-old Geetanjali doesn’t mind singing, but she knows she’ll never be as good as her mother, Aai, or grandmother, Aaji, famous classical singers from India whose celebrity has followed the family all the way to their small town of Deadwood, Michigan, where Geetanjali lives with her aai, and father, Baba.

After freezing on stage during a concert performance, Geetanjali adds “fear of singing” to her list of fears, a list that seems to be multiplying daily. Aai tries to stress the importance of using one’s voice and continuing to sing; Geetanjali hopes that when her Aaji, comes to visit this summer, she’ll be able to help her.

But when they pick Aaji up at the airport, she’s not alone. Lata, an auntie Geetanjali has never met before is with Aaji and their neighbor, Heena Auntie, who is acting strange and mean, and not like the warm auntie she normally is. Lata Auntie has heard all about Geetanjali’s family, growing up in India. She knows Aai and Aaji are the only ones who can sing raag Naagshakti. Aai plays it off, but Geetanjali thinks back to the raag in the binder that started with an N that had been torn out. She has never heard of Raag Naagshakti, which sounds like it is about the power of cobras.

Geetanjali is determined not to let her imagination get the best of her and add aunties to her list of fears, but she can’t help but wonder about the connection between the missing raag, Heena Auntie’s cold behavior, and their interesting summer visitor.

 

About the Author:
Born and raised in the Midwest, Supriya Kelkar learned Hindi as a child by watching three Hindi movies a week. She is a screenwriter who has worked on the writing teams for several Hindi films and one Hollywood feature. Supriya’s books include Ahimsa, The Many Colors of Harpreet Singh, American as Paneer Pie, and That Thing about Bollywood, among others. Visit her online at SupriyaKelkar.com.
 

 
The Cobra's Song By Supriya Kelkar Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781665911887
Availability: Not on our shelves. Usually ships in 2-5 days.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 16th, 2023