To Get To The Other Side book launch with Kelly Ohlert

Tuesday, December 6, 2022 - 7:00pm

Schuler Books
1982 W Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864

Join us for a book launch with Michigan author Kelly Ohlert, whose charming debut; a one-of-a-kind romcom, is written in the vein of Lyssa Kay Adams and Abby Jimenez.

 

This event is free to attend. However it helps us in planning to receive your RSVP. Please register here so we know you plan to join us: https://kellyohlert.eventbrite.com

 

About the Book:

Him, her, and a chicken make for one crowded house in Kelly Ohlert’s charming debut; a one-of-a-kind romcom, written in the vein of Lyssa Kay Adams and Abby Jimenez.

Trixie isn’t exactly sure what she was thinking when she stopped her car in the middle of downtown Chicago, scooped up a chicken struggling to cross the road, and drove off… but she does know that she has to find a new home for herself and her new feathered friend. The landlord at her apartment doesn’t allow pets and has caught Trixie in one too many pet-smuggling attempts in the past.

Bear likes his quiet life with his close-knit family, who own a flower business, but he’s in for a rude awakening when his meddlesome sisters post an ad to rent the spare room in his simple home, without asking his permission. Still, when Trixie responds to the ad, he agrees to let her move in, despite immediate worries about keeping things platonic.

 Determined to keep her new room, befriend Bear, and give Chick-chick, her rescue chicken, the care she deserves, Trixie fights to keep her walls up and resist her romantic feelings for Bear. However, it’s not long before the pair’s proximity and chicken parenting ignite flames that have Trixie and Bear testing the boundaries of their platonic ground rules. They have to figure out how to save a family business, pay for mounting vet bills, and navigate their own emotional baggage if they want to find the love that they all deserve.

 Perfect for readers of The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary, and fans of The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez, readers will find themselves rooting for every one of the relatable, but tenderly flawed, characters in this book as they follow the heartwarming antics of a rescue chicken and her human companions.

 

About the Author:
Kelly Ohlert is a romance author. She’s a lifelong avid reader of all genres, and as a busy mom has an enthusiastic appreciation for audio books and multi-tasking.

Kelly grew up in the Chicago area, but moved to attend Western Michigan University. She stuck around Michigan, hopping from city to city. Her meet cute involved “borrowing” that hot guy’s baseball cap, and it’s been love ever since. She, her husband(the aforementioned ball cap owner), and their two young daughters reside in the Lansing area, with their menagerie of five fur babies.

Aside from the obvious reading and writing, Kelly’s hobbies include belting out show tunes, game nights, losing her cell phone with alarming frequency, and getting outside to enjoy nature. If you meet her, approach with caution. She works from home, and in her stir crazy state, has been known to pounce on unsuspecting strangers to leach them of an ounce of adult conversation.

 

About the conversationalist:

Sonia Hartl is the author of Not Your #Lovestory and Have a Little Faith in Me (Page Street), which received a starred review in BookPage and earned nominations for the Georgia Peach Book Award, YALSA’s Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers, and ALA’s Rise: A Feminist Book Project List. She’s a member of SCBWI and the Managing Director for Pitch Wars 2020. When she’s not writing or reading, she’s enjoying pub trivia, marathoning Disney movies, or taking walks outside in the fall. She lives in Grand Rapids, MI, with her husband and two daughters. Follow her on Twitter @SoniaHartl1.

 

Pre-Order Now Badge
To Get to the Other Side: A Novel By Kelly Ohlert Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781639101382
Availability: Coming Soon - Preorder Now
Published: Alcove Press - December 6th, 2022