Jawbreaker Launch with Christina Wyman and Ruth McNally Barshaw

Saturday, November 11, 2023 - 2:00pm

Schuler Books
1982 W Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864

Grab your middle-grade reader and join us to learn about a fantastic new novel by debut Michigan author Christina Wyman; a humorous, heartfelt, and refreshingly relatable story. There will be cake. And prizes!

This event is free to attend. However it helps us in planning to receive your RSVP. Please register here so we know you plan to join us: https://jawbreaker.eventbrite.com

About the Book:
Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Smile, a refreshingly honest middle-grade debut novel about toxic sibling rivalry, socioeconomic disparity, and dental drama.

Max Plink’s life is complicated. Her parents aren’t getting along. The school bullies are relentless—and her own sister is the cruelest of them. Worst of all, her mouth is a mess. With a mismatched puzzle of a jaw, Max has a Class II malocclusion, otherwise known as a severe overbite. She already has braces, which means she lives on Advil and soft foods after each orthodontist appointment. But now Max has to wear painful (and totally awkward) orthodontic headgear nicknamed “the jawbreaker.” Could things get any worse?

Yes. The journalism competition Max wants to enter has a video component. But being on camera means showing her face not just to her junior high classmates, but possibly the whole city. Going viral is the last thing Max needs, but winning this competition is what she wants most. Turns out, following her dreams is complicated, too.

Inspired by Christina Wyman’s own experience with a Class II malocclusion, Jawbreaker is a humorous, heartfelt, and refreshingly relatable story.

Not able to join us? Order your copy here:
https://www.schulerbooks.com/book/9781250331021

About the Author:
Christina Wyman is a teacher and writer living in Michigan with her husband and silly rescue cat named Alfred—not to mention the raccoons, owls, and hummingbirds that occupy a tree outside their bedroom window. She grew up in a tiny apartment with her family in Brooklyn, New York, where she dreamed of becoming a writer. Her work has been published in New York Magazine, The Washington Post, Elle, Ms. Magazine, The Independent, and other outlets. Jawbreaker is her debut novel. When she’s not writing, you can find her stocking up on chocolate or trying to convince her husband to adopt more cats.

About the Conversationalist: 
Ruth McNally Barshaw, lifelong writer and artist, has worked in the advertising field, illustrated for newspapers, and won numerous essay-writing contests. She lives in Lansing, Michigan, with her family. Visit her at www.ruthexpress.com

Jawbreaker By Christina Wyman Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250331021
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Square Fish - October 24th, 2023