Jess Sinclair and Lisa Peers in Conversation

Thursday, October 19, 2023 - 6:30pm

Schuler Books
Gateway Center
7260 Orchard Lake Road,
West Bloomfield Twp, MI 48322

Discover your next read when two Detroit authors join us in conversation about their new books at our West Bloomfield Store! 

This event is free to attend. However it helps us in planning to receive your RSVP. Please register here so we know you plan to join us: https://sb-sinclair-peers.eventbrite.com

About What We Could Have Been:
In this richly imagined novel, perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Taylor Jenkins Reid, a terrible betrayal triggers a feud that casts its shadow over the fates of two families in a small Florida fishing community. When a hunt for the truth rekindles a forbidden alliance, these families must choose to unearth more deception or finally claim redemption.

Bluebelle Shea and Enzo Castellari are hardly more than children when they fall in love, despite the objections of their families, who have been at war for years. They don’t know the reason for the brutal rift, but nothing matters except the way they feel. Their hopeful plan for the future is shattered the night Blue’s mother drowns—and her father is arrested for murder.

Ten years later, fleeing a disastrous marriage, Blue returns home with her young son, Murphy. As she settles into the community once more, chance throws her together with Enzo, and she is startled by the rekindled attraction he stirs inside her.

Drawn together time and again, Blue and Enzo try to untangle years of conflicting emotions and bittersweet memories. When a frightening crisis strikes, Enzo doesn’t hesitate to come to Blue’s aid. Resolved to put the past behind them, they fight to learn not only what really happened the night Blue’s mother died, but the truth behind the destructive clash between their families.  

At its heart, What We Could Have Been explores the bonds between families, friends, and lovers, and poignantly illustrates the ways we can heal after betrayal. Suffused with detail and sentiment, this is a novel that will resonate with anyone who has ever fought for their own happy ending.

Order your copy here:
https://www.schulerbooks.com/book/9781639104710

About the Author:
A Detroit native and mother of three, Jess Sinclair writes relatable women’s fiction aimed at making readers laugh and cry, sometimes simultaneously. Jess is a daughter of two teachers who works as a nurse when not writing. She lives with her husband and best friend of thirty years and a menagerie of spoiled rescue dogs and cats.

About Love at 350°:
Food is their love language, but can they follow a recipe for romance?
 
When two women meet as judge and contestant on the set of a TV baking competition, they must decide what they’re willing to risk for the ultimate prize in this wholesome and delectable debut.

Tori Moore, high school chemistry teacher, avid home baker, and soon-to-be empty nester, auditions for the American Bake-o-Rama TV competition at the urging of her twin teenagers. The prize money could allow her to finally open her own bakery, but plagued by self-doubt after a messy divorce, it’s not only money standing between Tori and her dreams.
 
Once on set in Sonoma wine country, Tori catches the eye of Kendra Campbell, the notoriously ruthless celebrity chef and Bake-o-Rama judge. This show is Kendra’s ticket to financial security, but she’s been told to soften her approach for viewers seeking feel-good entertainment—quite the task after years of fighting for space in a male-dominated industry.
 
Tori and Kendra find it increasingly hard to keep their distance through six slow-burn weeks of cooking challenges and kitchen disasters. For both, the best prize of all might just be love.

About the Author:
Lisa Peers is a writer with a passion for smart, funny love stories with well-deserved happy endings. She has acted professionally in San Francisco, produced TV and radio programs in Detroit, and is currently a creative director for an international marketing agency. A Harvard graduate with an MFA in acting from the American Conservatory Theater in San Francisco, Lisa lives with her partner Dani in metro Detroit, not far from their three grown children, along with their beloved cats and way too much yarn. And plenty of sweets.

Love at 350°: A Novel By Lisa Peers Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593595183
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - October 10th, 2023

,
What We Could Have Been: A Novel By Jess Sinclair Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781639104710
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Alcove Press - October 10th, 2023