Mastering the Art of French Murder with Colleen Cambridge in conversation with Dianne Freeman

Tuesday, June 13, 2023 - 6:30pm

Schuler Books
Gateway Center
7260 Orchard Lake Road,
West Bloomfield Twp, MI 48322

We’re so excited to welcome our longtime friend, bestselling author Colleen Cambrige, to our new West Bloomfield store to present her newest book Mastering the Art of French Murder!

This event is free to attend. However it helps us in planning to receive your RSVP. Please register here so we know you plan to join us: https://schulerbooks-colleencambridge.eventbrite.com

About the Book
Fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Marie Benedict, Nita Prose, and of course, Julia Child, will adore this magnifique new mystery set in Paris and starring Julia Child’s (fictional) best friend, confidant, and fellow American. From the acclaimed author of Murder at Mallowan Hall, this delightful new book provides a fresh perspective on the iconic chef’s years in post-WWII Paris.

“Enchanting…Cambridge captures Child’s distinct voice and energy so perfectly. Expect to leave this vacation hoping for a return trip.” –Publishers Weekly

As Paris rediscovers its joie de vivre, Tabitha Knight, recently arrived from Detroit for an extended stay with her French grandfather, is on her own journey of discovery. Paris isn’t just the City of Light; it’s the city of history, romance, stunning architecture . . . and food. Thanks to her neighbor and friend Julia Child, another ex-pat who’s fallen head over heels for Paris, Tabitha is learning how to cook for her Grandpère and Oncle Rafe.

Between tutoring Americans in French, visiting the market, and eagerly sampling the results of Julia’s studies at Le Cordon Bleu cooking school, Tabitha’s sojourn is proving thoroughly delightful. That is, until the cold December day they return to Julia’s building and learn that a body has been found in the cellar. Tabitha recognizes the victim as a woman she’d met only the night before, at a party given by Julia’s sister, Dort. The murder weapon found nearby is recognizable too—a knife from Julia’s kitchen.

Tabitha is eager to help the investigation, but is shocked when Inspector Merveille reveals that a note, in Tabitha’s handwriting, was found in the dead woman’s pocket. Is this murder a case of international intrigue, or something far more personal? From the shadows of the Tour Eiffel at midnight, to the tiny third-floor Child kitchen, to the grungy streets of Montmartre, Tabitha navigates through the city hoping to find the real killer before she or one of her friends ends up in prison . . . or worse.

“Certain to appeal to a broad readership, especially fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Rhys Bowen, and Cambridge’s own Phyllida Bright series.” –First Clue, STARRED REVIEW

 

About the Author:
Colleen Cambridge is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the American in Paris Mysteries and the Phyllida Bright Mysteries, the first of which, Murder at Mallowan Hall, was an Indie Next Pick and Agatha Award finalist. An accomplished historian whose meticulously researched novels appeal to fans of historical fiction and mysteries alike, she also writes under the pennames C.M. Gleason and Colleen Gleason. She lives in the Midwest and can be found online at ColleenCambridge.com.

About the Conversation Partner:

Dianne Freeman is the acclaimed author of the Agatha and Lefty Award-winning Countess of Harleigh Mysteries, a two-time finalist for the Macavity’s Sue Feder Memorial Award, and a finalist for the Mary Higgins Clark Award. She spent thirty years working in corporate accounting and finance and now writes full-time. Born and raised in Michigan, she and her husband now split their time between Michigan and Arizona. Visit her at DiFreeman.com.

 
Mastering the Art of French Murder: A Charming New Parisian Historical Mystery (An American In Paris Mystery #1) By Colleen Cambridge Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781496739599
Availability: Not on our shelves. Usually ships in 2-5 days.
Published: Kensington - April 25th, 2023

,
A Newlywed's Guide to Fortune and Murder: A Sparkling and Witty Victorian Mystery (A Countess of Harleigh Mystery #6) By Dianne Freeman Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781496731623
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Kensington - June 27th, 2023