Virtual Author Chat with Anissa Gray

Tuesday, April 28, 2020 - 7:00pm

All Locations

28th Street
2660 28th Street SE 
Grand Rapids, MI 49512

Okemos - Meridian Mall
1982 Grand River Ave
Okemos, MI 48864

Please join us for an online book talk with Anissa Gray on Tuesday, April 28 at 7pm.

We ask that you register through Eventbrite to receive a link to the video conference on the day of the event.

REGISTER HERE

If you are interested in purchasing a book, please visit Schuler Books here.

About the Book

The Mothers meets An American Marriage in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you.

The Butler family has had their share of trials—as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian can attest—but nothing prepared them for the literal trial that will upend their lives.

Althea, the eldest sister and substitute matriarch, is a force to be reckoned with and her younger sisters have alternately appreciated and chafed at her strong will. They are as stunned as the rest of the small community when she and her husband Proctor are arrested, and in a heartbeat the family goes from one of the most respected in town to utter disgrace. The worst part is, not even her sisters are sure exactly what happened.

As Althea awaits her fate, Lillian and Viola must come together in the house they grew up in to care for their sister’s teenage daughters. What unfolds is a stunning portrait of the heart and core of an American family in a story that is as page-turning as it is important.

 

About the Author

Anissa Gray was born and raised in western Michigan. She graduated from Western Michigan University and received her Masters in English from New York University. After graduate school, Anissa went on to work as a print reporter at Reuters in Manhattan, covering global financial news. That was followed by a move to Atlanta and the initiation of her career in broadcast journalism at CNN, where she has held roles as writer, editor, and producer, receiving Emmy and duPont awards for contributions to the network’s coverage of major stories.

After more than 20 years as a journalist, Anissa, a lifelong book lover and voracious reader, pursued fiction writing, applying her love of storytelling from the realm of real-life, newsworthy happenings to the events and encounters that shape our lives. The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls is her debut novel.

Praise for The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

“A fast-paced, intriguing story, but the novel’s real achievement is its uncommon perceptiveness on the origins and variations of addiction.” —The New York Times Book Review

“The inequities of the justice system, the fortitude of women of color, and the bittersweet struggle to connect are rendered ravishingly in this bighearted novel”—O, The Oprah Magazine

“Gray’s nuanced, lyrical debut is a moving example of the ties that bind and—nearly as often—bless.” —People (Book of the Week)

“If you enjoyed An American Marriage by Tayari Jones, read The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls...Each chapter is narrated by an alternating sister, revealing layers of complex family history and demons. It all fuses into an absorbing commentary on love, family and forgiveness.”—Washington Post

“Sure to appeal to fans of Tayari Jones and Celeste Ng.”—Entertainment Weekly

“As in Tayari Jones’s best-selling An American Marriage, Gray uses imprisonment as the backdrop for a disarmingly compelling story that skirts easy answers and sentimentality. Conversational in tone and difficult in subject, Care and Feeding tells not just an American story but several important ones.”—Vogue

“A sharp family saga …. [the author’s] very personal connection coupled with Gray’s ability to translate hard emotion into straightforward prose make for a gripping read.”—Vanity Fair

“[A] moving debut…This is perfect for fans of Brit Bennett’s The Mothers; readers will be deeply affected by this story of a family wrestling to support itself.”—Publishers Weekly

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781984802446
Availability: On Our Shelves Now. Click on title for location specific availability.
Published: Berkley - January 14th, 2020